My Body Workz

Athlete Profile

Oreste Leone

Age: 30
Height: 5’11”
Weight: 185lbs

Italian/Canadian

Instagram: @jleofit_nurse

How did you get started with fitness?

Growing up I always strived to be a great athlete. Playing football and basketball into my college years my passion for improving and becoming a better athlete was constantly at the forefront of my goals. I knew the only route to the top was what I did behind the scenes and that drove me day in and day out to continually train and challenge myself in the gym. Seeing your body grow, in appearance, strength, power, functionality and skill lit a fire in me to want more each and every day. At the peak of my football career I unfortunately suffered an injury that ultimately put a stop to my efforts at moving to the next level. Although my sports career ended I still lived for the drive to be better, to compete not only with myself for self improvement but to see how far I can take it!

Where does your motivation come from?

My motivation stems from my passion for fitness and health. Since I was a young boy, it has always been embedded in my nature, without question it was what I aspired to do every day, a part of my DNA. Also, as a health care professional I know how important maintenance of health is on the hierarchy of needs and for that I strive to portray the morals and ideals I pass on to those I care for each day.

What is your favorite quote?

My favorite quote is one from Muhammad Ali, “If your mind can conceive it; and your heart can believe it, then you can achieve it”

Full Routine ;

Workout #1:Chest
      Incline DB or BB press 8 x 8 reps
      Flat Machine Press 4 x 12/10/10/8
Superset (SS)
      DB Incline Flys 4 x 12 reps
      Incline Machine/Hammer Press 4 x 12/10/10/8 reps
         SS
      Pushups 4 x 15 reps 
      High Cable Flys 4 x failure
Workout #2: Legs
      Hack Squats or Barbell Squats 8 x 8 reps
      Leg Press 4 x 12/10/10/8
SS
      Lunges 4 x 30 steps total
      Stiff leg Deadlifts 4 x 12/10/10/8
SS
      Seated Leg curls 4 x 12 reps
      Leg Extensions 4 x 15-20 reps (drop set after each set holding x 1-2 seconds
Workout #3: Shoulders
      Seated DB Press or Standing DB/BB press 8 x 8 reps
      Standing Lateral DB raises 4 x 12/10/10/8
SS
      Wide Grip BB upright row 4 x 15 reps
      Cable Front Rope Raise 4 x 12/10/10/8
SS
      Bent Over DB laterals 4 x 15-20 reps
     DB lateral raises: rack run: start low weight perform 8-10 reps and increase weight and repeat, over and over until you can’t do 8-10 reps, then decrease weight in the same fashion until back to the starting weight.  
Workout #4:Back
      Under hand grip lat pull downs 8 x 8 reps
      Wide Grip Lat pull downs 4 x 12/10/10/8
SS
      Bent Over Barbell/DB rows 4 x 12 reps
      Close grip seated rows 4 x 12/10/10/8
SS
      Rope straight arm pull downs 4 x 15 reps
      Back Extensions 100 reps
Workout #5: Arms
      Barbell Curls 8 x 8 reps
SS
      EZ bar tricep pushdowns 8 x 8 reps
      Preacher Curls 4 x 12/10/10/8
SS
      Overhead seated DB tricep press 4 x 15 reps
      Tricep Skull Crushers 4 sets 12/10/10/8
SS
      DB Hammer curls 4 sets 12 reps each arm (hold each rep x 1-2 seconds)

What is your current diet?

  • 2 whole eggs, 1 cup egg whites, 4oz steak, 60g oats or 2 packs flavoured instant oatmeal
  • 200g extra lean beef/turkey, 158g rice, 1-2 cups greens salad, salsa (mix all)
  • 225g chicken, 200g sweet potato, 1 cup broccoli
  • Protein bar
  • 1-2 scoops whey protein, 60g oats, 1 banana, 1-2 servings frozen yogurt

What supplements work best for you?

I like to keep it simple with supplements:
  • Creatine 5-10g daily
  • Glutamine 5-10g daily
  • Protein powder 1-2 times daily (mix with foods like oats or yogurts)
  • Vitamins, fish oils
  • L carnitine and R-ALA for fat loss
  • BCAA’s intraworkout

Do you have any other hobbies or do you take part in any other sports?

As far as other hobbies, I enjoy playing sports whenever I can. I play basketball in competitive leagues throughout the year. I also enjoy making time for family and close friends, even if it’s something as simple as a quick visit.

What are the top 2 things on your bucket list?

My bucket list includes a tour of Europe, starting with my roots in Italy. travelling to Greece, Germany and even making my way to Australia and New Zealand at some point, as well.

What makes you happy? 

For me, happiness stems from many areas but it all starts with family. Family has always been a strong focus in my life, a strong bond and connection. Growing up in a large family I truly value the bonds created that continue to extend to new members each year. The traditions that I’ve learned I hope to pass them on to future generations. Happiness for me also comes from my passion for fitness. Fitness, training, education in fitness and health; all of these are areas that create a happy place for me, a place that only gets better with time.

Where would you like to be in 5 years time?

In 5 years I would like to see myself as a successful father. A man who provides day in and day out for his family and still is able to balance time for self improvement, as well as motivation and inspiration for those around me.

Men

It never gets easier, you just get stronger

GET NEW PRODUCTS TO YOUR EMAIL

Go!